CK’s Blog Banter #4

Welcome to the forth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by Crazy Kinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed here. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s EVE Blog Banter comes to us from Manasi of A Mule in EvE. Manasi asks “How do we, EVE bloggers, adapt to changes as they are thrust upon us (speed changes, no more ghost training, all the Dev blogs, etc), or as our lives make playing the game different (more time, less time)?”

Lets face it, EvE is a game of time and dedication. The more time and thought you put into it, the better pilot you will become. With so much time and emotion going into a single game, one certainly has to balance it all. Real Life ALWAYS comes first. The biggest mistake a pilot can make is putting off RL events or errands to play EvE. Once you do that you fall into this rut and it becomes difficult to get out of. That may sound silly, but I’ve seen it happen before.

I’ve been running my own corporation for almost three months now. I make it a point to have scheduled OPs at specific days and times during the week. We have a bunch of players who have limited play time. With set OP schedules a player knows that if they wanted to log on at a specific time that there would be something going on they could join. Of course there are various impromptu events happening throughout the week as well. It seems as if this helps keep those who do have limited time involved with the corp.

Running a corporation has its own balance issues. We are small right now, but are growing quickly. As we grow, it gets harder and harder to deal with the everyday aspects of the corp. One thing that does help is having two divisions (navy and industry) and having a director for each division. Each director knows what they are doing in their respective division and is in charge of the everday management and development in their division. They report back to me and we decide as a team the direction of the corp and its divisions. This takes some serious weight off my shoulders and allows me to dedicate time to running the entire corp, make some iskies for myself and still have a life outside of EvE.

When I first started Eve I sunk every extra minute I had into it. After a year of playing, I’ve learned a very fine balance. I mine when no one is on and have nothing to do. If its a dead night in the corp, I take that time to log off and do things around the house and such. I have specific days where I just don’t log in for more than a few minutes. You need this time to clear your head and actually have a life. My fiance and I are getting married in the spring and so will start the beginning of a family. In a few years time if something NEW comes into our family, balance will be even more important. Make no mistake about it, Eve is here to stay in my life. It’s my beleif that even with a busy life, I can have my cake and eat it too.

Participants:

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “CK’s Blog Banter #4

  1. Pingback: New Ballgames, Same Home Team « The Ralpha Dogs

  2. Pingback: Eve Blog Banter #4 « Epic Misadventures!

  3. Pingback: Blog Banter #4 - Adapt or Die | Morphisat's Blog

  4. Pingback: » [OOC] January’s Blog Banter Ombeve

  5. Pingback: “If I could save time in a bottle….” | The Wandering Druid of Tranquility

  6. Pingback: January EVE Blog Banter « Venom’s Bite

  7. Pingback: Blog Banter #4: Delicious! — EVE Chick

Leave a Reply

